My parents dropped off a bunch of wonderful yellow squash when they came up for a visit so I have been spending the week getting rid of it.  My first dish was a simple sauteed squash and onions with oven roasted corn, then I did a modified squash cornbread casserole (I was told it tasted like enchiladas), I made Squash Fries to go with Jalapeno Popper Grilled Cheese sandwiches, and of course 8 loaves of amazing zucchini bread.  Tonight was a delicious Squash Quiche, and that is the recipe I’ll be sharing.  If your interested in the others let me know and I’ll get them thrown up here also.  All in all I have been VERY impressed with the range of flavors and textures I have been able to get out of a simple yellow vegetable, and also amazed at how much my picky children have taken to it.  I modified a recipe I found at http://www.epicurious.com/, not my favorite cooking site, but a pretty good one in a pinch.  the original recipe is here.

Ingredients

  • 1 tablespoon Olive Oli
  • 2 large Yellow Squash, cut into 1/4-inch-thick rounds
  • 2 teaspoons thyme (fresh if you have it, I used dried)
  • 5 large eggs (reduced from 6 in the original recipe as I used more squash)
  • 1 cup whipping cream
  • 3/4 teaspoon salt (or to taste)
  • 1/4 teaspoon ground black pepper (or to taste I used a little more pepper, and less salt)
  • 1 teaspoon garlic powder (use 1-2 minced cloves if you have the prep time)
  • 1/2 teaspoon green Tabasco sauce (i prefer the flavor of the green to the red)
  • 3/4 cup (packed) coarsely grated cheddar cheese (about 3 ounces)
  • Pie crust (I use Pillsbury refrigerated crusts since I have yet to master pie crusts)

Instructions

Heat oil in heavy large skillet over medium heat. Add squash, thyme, salt, pepper, and garlic. sauté until squash is tender, about 5-8 minutes, stirring occasionally (just cook it until it looks awesome and if it browns a bit don’t worry about it). Cool to room temperature.

Prepare pie crust according to the package directions, or however you would if you are using a homemade crust.

Whisk eggs, cream, and hot sauce in bowl (I used the whisk attachment for my immersion blender and whipped until it was even colored and very frothy). Arrange squash over bottom of crust. Sprinkle with cheese. Pour egg mixture into crust, filling completely.

Bake quiche until filling is golden and set in center, about 35-45 minutes (I set my timer for 35 and then eyeball it from there.  The outer edge will puff up more than the center, this is fine and it will “deflate” as it cools).  Cool 15 minutes. Cut and serve.

 

