Tags

, ,

This recipe is to make your own puff pastry. Now this isn’t the completely correct way, but that one takes too long and I rarely remember to plan ahead that far. This one does require 2 hours of refrigeration. The recipe makes the same amount you would get in a box which is 2 sheets. If you only want to use half of it, freeze the other half of it after rolling it out. You can place it between two layers of wax paper and fold it up if you want it similar to what you buy at the grocery store. We used all purpose flour although I think I may try actual pastry flour next time to see the difference. Use as you would puff pastry dough.

Ingredients

  • 1 1/2 cups all purpose flour
  • 1 cup butter
  • 1/2 cup sour cream

Directions

  1. Cut butter into flour until mixture resembles crumbs.
  2. Mix in sour cream.
  3. Knead until dough holds together (about 1 minute of kneading)
  4. Form into a ball, flatten slightly, and wrap with plastic wrap. Refrigerate for 2 hours or more.
  5. Working with half the dough (leave the other half refrigerated), pound it out with a rolling pin until pliable.
  6. Roll it out into desired shape and oi la! You’ve made your own puff pastry!

Considerations: My main concern with making my own puff pastry was I saw how incredibly unhealthy it was from the supermarket. However, after calling my Granny to get a recipe to make my own I see why it’s so unhealthy. Since I mostly use my puff pastry to stick savory foods in, I’m going to try next time using Earthbalance or some other form of butter substitute to see how that  turns out. I know it usually doesn’t work as well in baking, but hopefully for this it will, because puff pastry has a lot of calories and fat.

