Tags

, ,

Fun fact – Sope translates into “Masa Boat”. I’ve loved these little dishes ever since I used to work next to a taqueria and some of my Spanish speaking friends would get me some. Since I became a vegetarian it is much more difficult to get these unless I’m communicating in English. I tend to get a lot of weird looks when I ask for no meat and beans instead. This is the first time we’ve made these at home and I’m so happy with the results. They are really delicious! I think I’m going to make them a little thinner next time however, because they puffed up quite a bit more than I thought they would.

3 cups masa
1/2  tsp salt
1 1/4 cups water
1/3 cup broth
1/4 tsp baking soda
2 tbs butter (softened)
Oil

Topping

Refried Black beans
Salsa
Queso Fresco
Tomatoes
Lettuce
Crema Poblano

Instructions
1. Combine 3 cups masa with salt and water, mix until masa sticks together barely, and still feels a little dry.

2. Mix broth and baking soda, then pour into the masa and mix with hands until well blended. Rub a bit of butter between your hands then knead that and the rest into the masa.

3. Divide into 8 even portions and roll into balls, then flatten them out to about 3/4 inch thick and 3 inches wide.

4. Put sopes on a dry skillet over low-medium heat for about 2 minutes to firm (helps prevent sopes from falling apart once they hit the oil)
5. Heat oil about 1/4 inch deep on medium heat, and cook sopes on both sides (about 3-4 minutes on each side), until golden brown and firm in the middle.
6. Drain on a rack or paper towels.

7. Spoon warmed refried beans into boats then sprinkle with cheese, lettuce, crema, and avocado.

