Dinner was lovely, and a bit adventurous. Josh Koeppe came over and we had a fine time we talked of many things, Of shoes and ships and sealing wax Of cabbages and kings And why the sea is boiling hot And whether pigs have wings. Okay not really, but that would have been fine also. The adventurous part was caused by the stove. When Koeppe and I walked into the house we heard an ominous and repetitive clicking and saw no sign of Dominique or Octavian. it turns out they had gone outside and the striker for the front burner had shorted out causing it to strike uncontrollably. Koeppe and I fiddled with it for a bit and after some interwebs investigimations we discovered that the little white piece with the wires attached had probably fritzed, though we had no idea how or why as it was working fine when I left. It turned out that tea was our undoing. While I was out Dominique was going to make tea. In the process she spilled water all over the stove toggle. Water and electricity do not mix well and the stove was broken.

After dropping Koeppe off at his place we checked out Lowes for a new striker but to no avail, they only carry whole units, no parts. We had read that the thing could just dry out and work again so I figured what the heck, we can always just turn the power back off and plug the refrigerators into other outlets for the night. Good news, it works, I feel like a real boy I fixed the stove without electrocuting myself or starting a fire or anything!

Tamales tomorrow!

 

